There was no way she could have known… that someday I’d actually write a poem

Miss Morgan’s Class

 

 I had to sit clear in the rear

because my name was Wilden

back where it’s hard to stay awake

when someone’s droning Milton

I couldn’t see the words she’d scrawl

while writing on her blackboard wall,

the poems that rhymed

or homework assigned…

 

I needed glasses even then

when I was young and still quite slim

 

this is what she said,

if you want to write prose like Milton’s

you’ve got to learn

how to diagram a sentence

it’s simple arithmetic

a subject and a predicate

divided in two

 

but then she would proceed

to fill her blackboard wall

with diagrams I could not read

or comprehend at all

 

it’s just something that I never learned

because my name was Wilden

and I was sitting in the back

not paying much attention

 

Miss Morgan tried, she really did

but I needed glasses way back then

when I was young and still quite slim

2 comments

Leave a Reply

